RSS

Prints, size and framing

25 May

When I decided to shot on the transparency film, my first idea to exhibit it was through a projection. However, after researching prices of equipment and other factors, such as number of shots in the series, I decided against it. Instead, I’m going to print them off and frame.

I considered two sizes of prints/frame – 6×8 with A4 frame or 10×8 with A3 frame.

Things I need to consider:

  1. Available space for each student
  2. Printing from the scanned film, i.e. resolution restrictions
  3. Cost of prints and framing

Ad #1: Even though the AWOL is a very spacious venue, it has to fit work from 12 students. I selected 4 photographs which I would like to exhibit. I think this is an optional number and will clearly represent my idea.

Screen Shot 2015-05-24 at 22.37.37 This is a floor plan provided by the management from AWOL. Unfortunately the measurements are very small and very hard to read, therefore I can’t predict how much space each person will get.
On Wednesday 27th June we will have a exhibition meeting on which we will discuss space issues and briefly curate the event.

Ad #2: I have to be very cautious about the size of my prints. I’m going to do prints from the film scans, which will affect it’s quality and restrict size options. I think it’s safe to say that smaller is better in this case, but I do not want my photos to ‘disappear’ in such a big space.

Ad #3 I was considering two printing places – DS Colour Labs in Didsbury and BPD Photech in Warrington. Prices are as follows:

DS Labs:

Titanum Lustre 280
8×6      £5.83 + VAT
10×8    £5.83 + VAT

P&P: £3.99

BPD:

Kodak Metallic:
8×6     £3.35
10×8   £4.65

Prices include VAT.
P&P: £3.50

It’s very clear that BPD is a lot cheaper than DS Labs. I have not tried their services before, but they have good reputation, so I am willing to try their services.

In terms of the size, I think I would prefer the 10×8 print in A3 frame, as otherwise it may ‘disappear’ in such a big space, amongst other work. My main worry is the lower quality of the print.

Until we start curating the exhibition and will get the exact measurements of the space available, I can’t make the final decision about the size and number of prints.


There are a few companies in Manchester where I can get good quality frames for my photographs:

  • Manchester Framing Company Ltd
  • Framing Manchester
  • Framing Shop

I have contacted all three and awaiting the quotes.


Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 17.57.48 Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 17.58.02

Quotes from Framing Shop and Framing Manchester. The main reason why I contacted these firms, was to be able to get frames with glass instead of perplex. I’m fully aware that these frames are of a very high standard, however I cannot afford to pay that much for it, therefore I decided to use the company I have used for framing my previous project. They are more affordable, the only downside is that they are only available with perplex. I’m hoping that this is not going to hugely affect the quality of the display.

Screen Shot 2015-05-28 at 00.10.13

I decided to go for 302×352 mm with 40 mm wide mount in Snow White and 20 mm black, wooden frame. Due to very limited funds, I decided to display only 3 photos instead of 4. I don’t think it is going to affect the overall look of the series.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 25, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
